Web Reviews

Please leave a review if you have stayed at the Les Rochers Gîte or Chambres d'Hôtes.

 All reviews will be posted, even in the highly unlikely event that they should be uncomplimentary.

See how our previous guests rated their stay. (Note: These reviews may refer to Les Chênes, La Primelle and Les Pins. These were nearby gîtes owned and run by us between 2002 and 2017. They are no longer available as we have scaled down; all the better to concentrate on Les Rochers Gîte!)

Add a message in the Guestbook

  1. En partance pour le Gard, nous avons passé trois nuits au gîte des rochers et avons adoré ce court séjour. Le gîte à tout le confort nécessaire et même plus ! Malgré la forte chaleur, le gîte reste frais et vous pouvez aisément trouver un endroit à l’ombre de la riche végétation. La piscine est très agréable et accessible facilement. Le bruit des cigales est impressionnant, du matin au soir, vous rappelant ô combien cette région est agréable à vivre. Brian et Joan ont été des hôtes courtois, efficaces et discrets, tout ce que l’on recherche au cours de nos séjours. À recommander sans hésitations.
    Jérôme et Olivier

    Posted on

  2. La Primelle Chenes exceeded all our expectations with the delightful and peaceful surroundings, plus excellent facilities within the villa and outside, including playing table tennis and petanque in the forest. Having the lovely swimming pool to cool off in, after a busy days sightseeing was a real joy. The villa is set in stunning surroundings and the walks in and around the grounds led us through beautiful scenery with delightful views. We intended to eat out most evenings but sitting and eating on the balcony amongst the trees was so relaxing we soon altered our plans, listening to the evening bird chorus and watching the moths and bats going about their business. Sadly we only had a weeks stay but we all felt we could have happily stayed longer and never set foot off the grounds. However, we loved visiting Carcassonne, Pont du Diable - swimming in the lake and the Grotte de Clamouse, St-Guilhem-le-Desert - pretty village and loved canoeing through the gorge, Wine tasting at St Saturnin, Montpelier,

    Thanks Brian and Joan for your warm welcome and hospitality and sharing your tranquil home with us. We spent a perfect week in La Primelle and would certainly recommend it to friends. We hope to return again in the future.

    Posted on

  3. Posted 8 Aug 2015; Maison Les Rochers

    We had a great holiday in your superb, well equipped & clean house. We really need to stay longer to make the most of this stunning region of France but we still managed to pack in a lot in our week. Thank you again.

    Posted on

  4. Posted 8 Aug 2015; Les Rochers

    Excellent - we all had a super time. A great holiday. My favourite thing was walking from your house straight into the woods. The animals we saw were deer, badger, red squirrel and a black cat/creature? Stunning views from your house and a very special garden. I hope we will come back soon.

    The B. family, Sutton Coldfield.

    Posted on

  5. Les Rochers. Posted Aug 2015

    We have enjoyed a wonderful holiday in your beautiful house and garden - thank you so much. Highlights were forest walks, swimming in the pool, Cirque de Navacelles & swimming at Pont du Diable. The drive to Cirque de Navacelles and St Guilhem le Désert were quite stunning.

    Posted on

  6. August 15 - Les Rochers

    Thank you for letting us stay in your home. A wonderful setting for a family holiday, self-contained yet also so much to explore. We all enjoyed it wonderfully.
    The Stans family (London, Manchester, Vienna, Copenhagen)

    Posted on

  7. Review submitted June 2015; Les Rochers

    Thank you very much for a lovely holiday.
    We have particularly enjoyed exploring all the local area and we would definitely recommendthe Damoiselles Caves near Ganges and the beach at Pont de Diable.
    Many thanks again.

    Posted on

  8. Review Submitted: Feb 24, 2012 Date of Stay: February 2012

    We had such a wonderful time at Les Chenes; we cannot recommend it enough. In brief, the cozy fire, well-designed kitchen, beautiful views and spa of a bathroom were all as we hoped. Bella especially appreciated lying on the cool tile floor and gazing out the low windows for hours. We’d definitely return for another relaxing stay anytime!

    Posted on

  9. Review Submitted: May 4, 2011 Date of Stay: October 2010

    I and my husband, both in our mid-thirties, booked Les Chenes for a 6 months winter rental, curious to see how it would feel to live on the country side of beautiful south of france for a while. We moved in in october, not knowing so much what to expect, a bit afraid of living so far from the urban lifestyle we knew...!

    To our surprise, our 6 months were spent wandering in amazement at all the beauty that was offered to us around Les Chenes -- we enjoyed every single day here: the comfort, the calmness, the intimacy, the beautiful nature around us, living in a beautiful house with extremely pleasant hosts, Brian and Joan, who really managed to make us feel home and much welcomed at all times. Now that we move on to our next adventure, they will be missed!

    Our best of:
    - the magical walking path to Aubaygues
    - the beautiful fire place
    - film 4 movie channel
    - high speed internet
    - a wonderful and well equipped cooking space
    - the host's heated swimming pool in april
    - discovering old ruins in the woods
    - feeling at home away from home...

    Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to live in such a beautiful place Brian & Joan!

    Posted on

  10. Review Submitted: September 25, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010

    What a fantastic three weeks we have had in this beautiful peaceful spot in the hills...the Treehouse! is absolutely ideal, lovely to eat outside with the birds. Heard a cuckoo, nightingale, woodpecker and more...we're very sorry to leave, but hope to return one day soon.

    Posted on

  11. Review Submitted: October 16, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009

    This is a very well appointed property with a very warm welcome from the owners. We had a very enjoyable holiday relaxing by the pool and eating on the wonderful balcony amid the trees. The property is very isolated and we liked watching the bats in the evening and listening to the owls in the distance. There are plenty of interesting places to visit nearby and some wonderful countryside and gorges to drive through.

    Posted on

  12. Review Submitted: July 22, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011

    La Primelle is a fantastic tranquil hideaway set within easy reach of many of the attractions the region has to offer. The open plan living area on the first floor with its numerous windows remains cool on hot days and leads on to the large treetop balcony where you can enjoy dinner after a day spent lazing by the pool or exploring the region. Outside the villa there is plenty of space and is accommodating to both sun worshipers and those that prefer the shade. Brian and Joan were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and were able to provide local recommendations. We had a wonderful holiday full of breathtaking scenery, lovely towns and a nearby lake for the dog and we can give no higher recommendation than to say that we have already booked again for next year!

    Posted on

  13. Review Submitted: November 25, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011

    The magic house!

    We spent the month of August in La Primelle and could not have been happier. The house is wonderful, practical, and has everything one needs to spend comfortable holidays. Owners Joan and Brian - and their son Simon - were always immediately available when we needed them, and they were the nicest people. The house is secluded and quiet, the rooms are spacious and nicely furnished, and the terrace on the first floor under the roof is fantastic - it is indeed like sitting in a treehouse, and we spend lovely evenings there after a day by the pool! We will be back!
    Thank you for a wonderful time.

    Posted on

  14. Review Submitted: July 22, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011

    Un séjour fantastique

    Nous avons passé un séjour de 15 jours très très agréable aux Primelles.
    La maison est située sur une coline boisée et retirée du village. Le calme est total. Vraiment idéal pour un séjour reposant au milieu de la nature.
    Dès notre arrivée, nous avons été agréablement surpris par l'aménagement des lieux et l'accueil du propriétaire.
    Les chambres sont spacieuses et joliement meublées et décorées, de même que l'espace de vie qui se trouve à l'étage. Une grande et superbe terasse prolonge celui-ci.
    Rien ne manque, l'équipement est vraiment très complet ce qui permet de venir avec le strict minimum.
    Pendant que les amoureux de promenades profiteront des nombreuses possibilités, les autres pourront profiter de la piscine. Pour les amateurs de plage, la mer est à une heure de route.
    Nous y retournerons certainement.

    Posted on

  15. Review Submitted: January 20, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2009

    Les Rochers apartment in July 2009 with 2 kids. It was perfect! The pool times suited us very well as we could get out to one of the lovely nearby attractions in the morning and get back to cool off before our evening BBQ.
    The estate is so peaceful and the accomodation was comfortable and cool (important when the temp outside is 35).
    We loved walking in the forest and listening to the owls at night while sipping our wine.
    I think we will return soon. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.
    Aurelie C

    Posted on